Kids- humans not goats :-)

Hey, thanks for stopping by my blog. This will be a classic rambling post, the whole point of it is to share something I found so encouraging, that made my heart rejoice and which I hope you enjoy.

The more I see God, the more I want to see of Him, the more I know Him, the more I want to know of Him, the more I drink of His presence, the thirstier I become. My hearts cry is increasingly as in Psalms 27:4-5:

One thing I ask from the LORD, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the LORD and to seek him in his temple. For in the day of trouble, he will keep me safe in his dwelling; he will hide me in the shelter of his sacred tent and set me high upon a rock.

The MSG translation goes: I’m asking God for one thing, only one thing: To live with him in his house my whole life long. I’ll contemplate his beauty; I’ll study at his feet.
That’s the only quiet, secure place in a noisy world, the perfect getaway

This is also changing my priorities, as I see the infinite value in Jesus, the more everything else pales in comparison to knowing Him and being known by Him. In recent times, when I think about my future offspring, I pray for kids who are missionaries before they are lawyers or doctors; who above any earthly accomplishments(not to say those are unimportant), know and love Jesus with a passionate intensity that captivates them from when they are really little, and influences every area of their lives. I pray that it would be a natural progression as they go from knowing Him as comforter and friend when they are little, to Saviour and King when they are old enough to grasp that.

In this vein, I would love to share something so precious with you. Its better watched and not described. Please click on the link to read the introduction and watch it.

I found that precious beyond words, I’m usually not a cry baby (my sister would beg to differ, lol) but I cry whenever I see little ones engage with God, perhaps it’s because I was a Muslim growing up so I did not have the privilege of knowing the Lord from a young age. It might also be because  I so admire and crave the unbridled gusto with which kids embrace God (which is why Jesus instructs us to receive His Kingdom like little children Mark 10:15).

If you have kids, I would also encourage you to teach them the bible from a young age. David Helm (author of The Big Picture Story Bible for kids) says we underestimate the spiritual capacity of kids to understand the gospel, and God’s ability to reveal Himself to children. Jesus would not have instructed that little children come to him, if they could not understand him (Matthew 19:14). From my limited experience, I would recommend the aforementioned Big Picture bible, and the Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name (They are excellent resources that condescend to children’s doctrinal level, without compromising the gospel message.) For more tips, read the comments in the above post where parents have shared tips on their efforts in this regard.

Whatever you do, remember Gods command to take them by the hand and lead them in the way of the Master; bringing them up in His training and instruction (Ephesians 6:4). If you are single, that might not be your kid but be a mentor, a role model, an example of a believer and invest in a kid around you like Paul did with Timothy ( 1 Timothy 4:12, 1 Timothy 1:2, see also Clarion Call for all Singles…)

Thanks for reading.

Shalom fam:-)


 

Leave a Reply

